

## **Rural Municipality of Stuartburn**

## Minutes of the Financial Plan Hearing of Tuesday April 23<sup>rd</sup>, 2019 at 7:00pm in the Municipal Council Chambers, Vita, Manitoba

Present: Reeve David Kiansky Deputy Reeve: Konrad Narth

Councillors: Dan Bodz, Jerry Lubiansky and Ed Penner Chief Administrative Officer Lucie Maynard, CMMA

Reeve Kiansky called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

The purpose of the meeting was to present the financial plan for 2019. There was one member of the public in attendance.

121-19 Moved by Jerry Lubiansky

Seconded by Dan Bodz

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Council of The R.M. of Stuartburn adopt the financial plan for 2019 as presented at the public meeting held April 23<sup>rd</sup>, 2019. **Carried** 

122-19 Moved by Konrad Narth

Seconded by Jerry Lubiansky

BE IT RESOLVED THAT council hereby gives 1<sup>st</sup> reading to By-Law No. 154/2019 being the 2019 Tax Levy By-Law. **Carried** 

123-19 Moved by Ed Penner

Seconded by Jerry Lubiansky

WHEREAS the Municipalities of Springfield, Ste. Anne, Taché, LaBroquerie, Stuartburn and Piney are all affected by the construction of a new 500-kilovolt transmission line from Dorsey Converter Station near Rosser to the Manitoba-Minnesota international border;

AND WHEREAS the affected Municipalities have been in negotiation and discussion with Manitoba Hydro for in excess of 5 years on the development of a "Community Benefit Program" (CBP) funding model;

AND WHEREAS the affected Municipalities were lead to believe that CBP was likely going to be implemented and available to the municipalities affected by the Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Line;

AND WHEREAS the six affected Municipalities received notice on February 4, 2019 that there was a change in policy direction and that CBP funding would no longer be available for the Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Line due to a broad government policy change;

AND WHEREAS the Provincial Government has indicated that Manitoba Hydro will not pay CPB funding when there isn't any adverse effects, such as health and safety risks;

AND WHEREAS the affected Municipalities see significant adverse effects including road damage, lower assessment values, increased risk of disasters such as wildland fires, decreased economic viability for land development and reduced agricultural viability from the construction and ongoing maintenance of the line;

AND WHEREAS the municipal impacts continue for the total useful asset life of the transmission line and compound as the impacted municipalities grow;

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the collective impacted Municipalities lobby the Province of Manitoba and Manitoba Hydro to reverse its' decision on the delivery of Community Benefit Program funding to the impacted Municipalities;

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT Manitoba Hydro pay CBP funding for the real impacts incurred by the municipalities;

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT the re-instated funding be at the same level as that proposed by Manitoba Hydro in negotiations prior to the February 4<sup>th</sup> 2019 decision. **Carried** 

WHEREAS the Municipalities of Springfield, Ste. Anne, Taché, LaBroquerie, Stuartburn and Piney are all affected by the construction of a new 500-kilovolt transmission line from Dorsey Converter Station near Rosser to the Manitoba-Minnesota international border;

AND WHEREAS the six affected Municipalities received notice on February 4, 2019 that there was a change in policy direction and that Community Benefit Program (CBP) funding would no longer be available for the Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Line due to a broad government policy change;

AND WHEREAS the affected Municipalities want to form a working committee titled "The MB-MN Transmission Line CBP Working Group" to lobby the Provincial Government and Manitoba Hydro to reverse its' decision to discontinue CBP funding on the proposed project;

AND WHEREAS the mission of the working group is the re-instatement of CBP funding to the 6 Municipalities affected by the Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Line project;

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Councillor Konrad Narth be appointed to the MB-MN Transmission Line CBP Working Group Carried

## 125-19 Moved by Jerry Lubiansky

Seconded by Dan Bodz

WHEREAS the Municipalities of Springfield, Ste. Anne, Taché, LaBroquerie, Stuartburn and Piney are all affected by the construction of a new 500-kilovolt transmission line from Dorsey Converter Station near Rosser to the Manitoba-Minnesota international border;

AND WHEREAS the affected Municipalities have been in negotiation and discussion with Manitoba Hydro for in excess of 5 years on the development of a "Community Benefit Program" (CBP) funding model;

AND WHEREAS the affected Municipalities were lead to believe that CBP was likely going to be implemented and available to the municipalities affected by the Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Line;

AND WHEREAS the six affected Municipalities received notice on February 4, 2019 that there was a change in policy direction and that CBP funding would no longer be available for the Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Line due to a broad government policy change;

AND WHEREAS the Provincial Government has indicated that Manitoba Hydro will not pay CBP funding when there isn't any adverse effects, such as health and safety risks;

AND WHEREAS the affected Municipalities see significant adverse effects including road damage, lower assessment values, increased risk of disasters such wildland fires, decreased economic viability for land development and reduced agricultural viability from the construction and ongoing maintenance of the line;

AND WHEREAS the municipal impacts continue for the total useful asset life of the transmission line and compound as the impacted municipalities grow;

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the AMM lobby the Province of Manitoba and Manitoba Hydro to reverse its' decision on the delivery of Community Benefit Program (CBP) funding to those Municipalities impacted by the construction of the Manitoba-Minnesota Transmission Line;

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT Manitoba Hydro pay CBP funding for the real impacts incurred by the municipalities;

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT the re-instated funding be at the same level as that proposed by Manitoba Hydro in negotiations prior to the February 4<sup>th</sup> 2019 decision. **Carried** 

Other matters brought forth:

Community-Nominated Priority Places (CNPP) Partnership – Council discussed the partnership project and what they would like achieved.

## Adjournment:

WHEREAS all matters pertinent to this meeting have been completed,

	1 ,	8	1
Carried	n. Time:7:56 P.M.	is meeting do now adjourr	BE IT RESOLVED THAT this 1
PALITY OF STUARTBURN	THE RURAL MUNICI		
ief Administrative Officer	Lucie Maynard, Ch		
David Kiansky, Reeve			